New Liberal Democrat committee co-chairs announced

November 3, 2012 12:08 PM

A number of new Liberal Democrat Parliamentary Party Committee co-chairs have been appointed by Liberal Democrat Leader Nick Clegg.

Paul Burstow MP has also been elected as chair of the Parliamentary Party. - The former Parliamentary Party Chair Lorely Burt stood down from the role after being appointed as PPS to the Chief Secretary to the Treasury Danny Alexander

The new appointments in the House of Commons are:

Gordon Birtwistle, Business, Innovation and Skills

Mike Crockart, Energy and Climate Change

Julian Huppert, Home Affairs, Justice and Equalities

John Leech, Culture, Media and Sport

Greg Mulholland, Work and Pensions

Alan Reid, Transport

Mark Williams, Wales

Roger Williams, Food and Rural Affairs

John Thurso becomes the co-chair to the Parliamentary Party Committee on Constitutional and Political Reform in addition to the role he holds for the Scotland committee.

The new appointments in the House of Lords are:

Lord (Jonathan) Marks of Henley on Thames, Justice

Lord (Monroe) Palmer of Childs Hill, Defence

Lord (Mike) Storey, Education (starts January)

Lord (Martin) Thomas of Gresford, Wales

Full list of the Liberal Democrat Parliamentary Party Committee Co-Chairs

Work & Pensions

Commons Co-Chair: Greg Mulholland

Lords Co-Chair(s): Lord German

Education, Families & Young People

Commons Co-Chair: Dan Rogerson

Lords Co-Chair: Baroness Walmsley until January 2013, followed by Lord (Mike) Storey

Constitutional & Political Reform (including Cabinet & House Business)

Commons Co-Chair: John Thurso

Lords Co-Chair: Lord Tyler CBE DL

Culture, Media & Sport

Commons Co-Chair: John Leech

Lords Co-Chair: Baroness Bonham-Carter of Yarnbury

Energy & Climate Change

Commons Co-Chair: Mike Crockart

Lords Co-Chair: Lord Teverson

Environment, Food and Rural Affairs

Commons Co-Chair: Roger Williams

Lords Co-Chair: Baroness Parminter


Commons Co-Chair: Alan Reid

Lords Co-Chair: Lord Bradshaw

Communities & Local Government

Commons Co-Chair: Annette Brooke

Lords Co-Chair: Lord Tope CBE

International Affairs (FCO, Defence & DfID)

Commons Co-Chair: Martin Horwood

Lords Co-Chair: Baroness Falkner of Margravine (FCO)

Lords Co-Chair: Lord Palmer of Childs Hill (MoD)

Lords Co-Chair: Lord Chidgey (DFID)

Health & Social Care

Commons Co-Chair: John Pugh

Lords Co-Chair: Baroness Jolly

Home Affairs, Justice & Equalities

Commons Co-Chair: Julian Huppert

Lords Co-Chair: Baroness Hamwee (Home Office)

Lords Co-Chair: Lord Marks (MoJ)

Business, Innovation & Science

Commons Co-Chair: Gordon Birtwistle

Lords Co-Chair: Lord Razzall CBE


Commons Co-Chair: Stephen Williams

Lords Co-Chair: Baroness Kramer


Commons Co-Chair: Mark Williams

Lords Co-Chair: Lord (Martin) Thomas


Commons Co-Chair: John Thurso

Lords Co-Chair: Lord (Nicol) Stephen

Northern Ireland

Commons Co-Chair: Stephen Lloyd

Lords Co-Chair: Lord Smith of Clifton